Netflix is testing an instant replay feature that would allow you to rewind to the start of a scene, either because you missed something or simply enjoyed it and want to watch it again …

Engadget reports after Netflix confirmed the test to the LA Times.

However, those who have been included in Netflix’s instant replay trial don’t seem overly impressed, complaining that the pop-ups are distracting.

Netflix said only that it was ‘looking to learn’ and may or may not implement the instant replay feature once testing is complete.

Same, really messed up my immersion. So far it’s happened right after two intense scenes. Really took me out of the moment.

I hope this isn’t a permanent thing because it’s distracting and obnoxious. If I want to see something again, I’ll rewind it myself…I don’t need a prompt.

The streaming video service is seeing dramatic growth in its mobile revenues, earning $86.6M last month from mobile devices.

There’s still no sign yet of Apple’s long-expected competing service, and Netflix itself says it has no idea what to expect.

Photo: Shutterstock